Testimonials

January 2016
Hogan has cut my hair several times and always does a superb job. She is a true artist and creates cuts that are easy to style at home. I highly recommend Hogan.

January 2016
Love this place! Bea does my color and Hogan does my cut! HIGHLY recommend them :)

12/11/2015
This review is for Hogan. She is a fantastic stylist! She is an extremely talented stylist. Hogan knows what looks good on you and to me that is the true sign of a talented stylist. Hogan is also patient and listens to my concerns and addresses them before she starts styling. I am always happy after she styles my hair!

December 2015
Hogan is the best stylist...she knows what looks good on you and takes the time to listen to your concerns. She is definitely my go-to stylist!

November 2015
I've seen Stephanie Hogan (AKA HOGAN for appointments) for several hair cuts an want to say she's great! What I like best about her cuts is that my hair falls naturally and doesn't need a whole lot of time daily. She brings world wide experience to the salon along with her friendly and professional style.

10/19/2015
Hogan is amazing! She really takes the time to understand what I want, but also recommends some fun ideas too! She cuts to the wave and style I do my hair so it's super easy to do on my own. I always get tons of compliments after seeing her and send my friends her way! If you want a great cut from a super cool lady go see Hogan- you will leave happy!!

10/19/2015
This review is for (Stephanie) Hogan.
In short...she is the BEST stylist I have ever been to. I haven't looked back since first having Hogan fix a grown out cut that wasn't great to begin with about 9 months ago. I came in with a lot of research photos and she patiently went through them with me to fully understand what I wanted (and didn't want, even if I thought I did). Since my hair is chin length Hogan cuts it every 3 months to keep the length where I want it but she is so good I could easily go longer and it would still look exceptional. She continues to listen to what I want - whether that is the exact same cut or to try something slightly different. She always remembers my preferences and makes me feel comfortable by talking through everything she's doing. She clearly loves what she does and it shows in her work. Hogan is both a stellar stylist and an awesome human being!

8/26/2015
Fall in love with yourself, over and over.

Every time I look in the mirror I just can't stop smiling. I've been growing my hair out for months to get this particular look. The anticipation the night before kept me up almost all night.

I wake up at 6 am and slowly got ready for the long drive from Long Island into the city. Of course, there's traffic and it's not helping. Finally, I arrive with minutes to spare till my appointment. I walk to the counter and ask for... her, my new favorite person, Stephanie Hogan.

She asked me what I was looking to do. I brought photos. She looked at them, asked me a few questions and then got to work. I wasn't very talkative. Maybe it was the lack of sleep or the nervousness. It didn't matter. With each passing moment, every time I looked at her working on my hair I could not help but feel happy.

I LOVE MY NEW HAIR! I have fallen in love with myself all over again.

Do yourself a favor. Fall in love again. Go to Arrojo and ask for Hogan. (There is another Stephanie who works there so make sure you just ask for Hogan!)

5/14/2013
In the 7 years I've lived in the city, I can honestly say I've never gotten my hair done by the same stylist twice... That is, until I met Stephanie. Before her, going to the stylist was like going to the dentist. I did it because that's what my hair needed to stay healthy but, man, did I dread it. Those weeks post-cut before my hair so much as resembled what I wanted always felt like they stretched on forever. Now, I'm in Steph's chair every two months religiously because I'm always sure my hair is going to look better when I leave her salon than when I walked in. Her talent is world class and I trust her completely. That's important to me. I've finally been able to take those chances on my cut and color I've been so reluctant to try with anyone else because I know the results will always be as fabulous as she is.

5/9/2013
It's a blessing to have my hair done by such a gifted stylist. Stephanie is a true professional and a great personality.
I have a short haircut, and it's crucial for me to have it done precisely right. And her work is AMAIZING. The haircut is super easy to maintain, and it lasts forever (what if I tell you it can easily last up to 2 MONTHS? It is magic).
Thank you, Stephanie! I trust you indefinitely!

4/21/2013
Stephanie is a great stylist and person! After some of my friends recommended me Stephanie as an awesome stylist I decided to go and try to create the new hair style with her help. So i went having some ideas of the direction of how my new style should look like, but of course i wasn't sure and wanted to get some professional stand point and advice. Stephanie did a great job i must say - she got what i wanted, adjusted it to my face proportions, etc - and came up with a new style i really liked! I even didn't expect that will leave the salon with such a level of happiness)) She also took into account my ask to make the style which i can easily deal with afterwards, gave all the instructions - and now it takes me not more than 10 minutes to do my hair!
I highly recommend Stephanie and wish her all the best with her business! I can say that i have found the stylist I trust, while I stay in Chicago will definitely work with her!

1/1/2013
Chicago is lucky to have this California transplant. Stephanie is a true professional and she nailed my color the first time. I am quite particular about my highlights and Stephanie matched the color perfectly the first time. She translated my quick brief of what I wanted into the most spectacular blonde highlights. I have long hair and she was quick and managed to get the color right to the roots.
I only get my hair cut (actually trimmed) a couple times a year, but after seeing her professional color work, she is the only one I will trust with the scissors.
She is officially my new colorist.

12/8/2012
I have always loved short hair, but been sceptical about it!! I wanted a hair cut that would make me look elegant yet have a hint of naughtiness about it and more importantly will make people notice me! However I did not know what exactly I wanted! I trusted Stephanie completely!! She listened to my requirements and was very patient with me!! She worked MAGIC on my hair and the result- A NEW LOOK!!! I have been getting compliments ever since with the best one being, that with the hair cut I can still pass off as a college kid. Thank you Stephanie!!! And oh yes!! Stephanie is a really warm person to talk to!!! I highly recommend her!!

12/8/2012
I was at Stephanie's new hair salon a couple of weeks ago. I did not know exactly what I want, so Stephanie adviced me different ways of how to update my hair style. I heard good feedbacks about Stephanie before, so I trusted her 100%. She did a great job! Everybody noticed my new look and found it gorgeous! I definitely recommend Stephanie for not only being a very professional and experienced hair stylist, but also a pleasant person to talk!

11/29/2012
Love! Stephanie is a recent addition to Chicago and the Gold Coast area, and I was so excited to visit her at her new salon to update my style. She LISTENED to what I was thinking, made some suggestions and did a great job on both my color and cut. Stephanie is everything you would want in a stylist--she keeps up with the latest trends and techniques, has great style personally, and is easy to talk to. The last is important because everyone knows that good hair takes time! Her salon is cozy, and you can enjoy a cup of tea while she works her magic!

5/12/2012
I love Stephanie!!! She is truly AMAZING. She listened to my list of requirements for a new hair style and then proceeded to give me the most wonderful hairstyle. I keep getting compliments. Not only did she give me a wonderful cut, she also styled it special for me -- it was my birthday, and taught me how to style it myself. Its 3 weeks later and it still looks great and I am over the moon at finding Stephanie. [...] Go see Stephanie, you will be so glad you did.

4/11/2012
Stephanie is back! I was so happy to hear that the stylists that has such a creative eye as well as LISTENING skills is back! I was ready for the plunge to cut my long hair and I went to her. She made cute short hair look not just cute but sexy! I will definitely go back to her and she just does not specialize in styling but keratin straightening, color and updos!

4/6/2012
My favorite hair stylist is back in the Bay!! Finally, I can have my hair back in the trusted hands of Stephanie Hogan...
I moved to San Francisco three years ago and had no idea about hair salons in the city. I heard about Stephanie from a friend, who had been a long time client. On my first visit, Stephanie was friendly, confident, capable and very honest with what needed to change about my hair. I left the salon with the confidence she put in to it and became a loyal client from the very first cut.
When she went to London my hair and I missed her very much. But I knew her time in London was going to make her an even better hairdresser (if that's possible). I am so happy Stephanie is back working full time in Union Square. Now I can have perfect hair once again!!! :)

4/4/2012
Great hair stylist.......say what?! Stephanie is the name of the game. Just back from London, this girl is amazing. Not only is she hilarious, but professional and incredibly talented. I've been in the longhair "blah" phase with no shape for a long while. I wanted something new but to keep a little length and add some volume. Stephanie did just that, she cut my hair to perfectly match my facial structure and really gave me some shape. Can't recommend her enough. Glad to have Stephanie back in SF!

12/1/2010
[...] When I heard that Stephanie was living in The City and specializing in men's haircuts, I had to drop by and see my homegirl from the old 'hood. I'll admit, I'm very particular in general, but I'm an absolute freak about my haircuts. My last name is actually "Hair" for chrissake...I'm not even kidding. That said, I couldn't have been more satisfied with the results. She takes her time and you can tell that she truly cares about hair. Nice even taper, just close enough around the ears, and perfectly blended up top. Seriously good work. I felt like a badass walking outta there...that basically says it all. This little lady really knows how to cut hair. Thanks Stephanie!

10/13/2010
I started going to this salon when my hairstylist, Stephanie, moved here. [...] If you are looking for someone who will do a great job on your hair, go to Stephanie!! She takes her time and is super friendly. I couldn't be happier with her.

5/6/2010
I recently relocated to San Francisco and desperately needed a haircut! My new roommate recommended Stephanie from Bay City Barber Salon to me. I called, made an appointment without hassle, and was pleasantly surprised. I have real trust issues with my hair and she made me feel comfortable and confident. I am super happy with the time and detail she put in to my hair. I felt like my concerns were addressed and I got exactly what I wanted. Much thanks Stephanie, I'll be back soon! Lucky me to find such a great stylist on my first try!

1/14/2009
I came to this salon about 6 months ago after a high end salon canceled my appointment when I was 15 min late [...]. Stephanie took me without an appointment. I had a shoulder length bob with lots of blond, honey, and red highlights. I was looking for a big change.. I wanted a very short cut and to change my hair color to a deep black cherry. Stephanie did a great job that day and I felt like the luckiest person. She continued to do an excellent job every time, and my color never faded (remarkable because i have quite a bit of gray)

9/2/2008
Stephanie has cut my hair for over a year now, and she's done a better job than anyone I've ever gone to, ever. I have curly hair and don't like it cut like I'm in the Marines, but I also hate looking like I have a 'fro. She figured out how to make my hair look good when I walked out of the salon until 6 weeks later (I'm too lazy to go more often) when I have to go again.

9/2/2008
[...] My hair stylist Stephanie Hogan is fantastic. She keeps up with the latest styles, works in LA one week out of the month, isn't afraid to give her honest professional opinion about what is needed and she knows hair. I started going to Stephanie when I lived in Southern California and when she moved to San Francisco, she saved my life. Her style is unique and you'll never go to another hair stylist again. I have short funky hair and I couldn't be happier!!! Love her!